Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Author : Shanaya Sadh 

Written in – Rishikesh

It was a six-hour drive give or take but worth it. The instant mom asked me if I wanted to come here all I could picture was this place and myself sitting there on one of the benches with my laptop and using the nature as an inspiration to write. I always wanted that. To come all the way from home for the sole purpose of writing. So it was like a dream come true.

I ceaselessly pondered upon why different places urged someone to write better, and then I came here. In the mornings the sunshine careened through the windows of my hut and woke me up and It was a feeling a metropolitan city like Delhi couldn’t provide me with. You start loving the sun over there. It soothes your pain and takes away the sadness in you. I was there with my family but I had the luxury of being alone in the company of nature whenever it pleased me.

  
It frightens some people to be alone, all by themselves. And its not their fault. We’re so used to being surrounded by people even when their existence doesn’t matter that the notion of not being surrounded by them scares us. I didn’t have TV there, no music to listen to and yet that week was one of the most relaxing ones I’d ever had in a very long time. And maybe it was because I really did need a break from my chaotic routine life.

Every once in a while I believe it’s imperative that we stop doing everything that we were and think, think about why we’re doing it. Because I’ve seen too many a people lose sight of the ‘why’ and just focus on the ‘what’. What we fail to understand is that if we don’t know why we’re doing whatever it is we’re doing, all the hard work will perish into nothingness for it will make no difference into anybody’s lives, and specially not ours. The place where I went, helped me figure out a lot of ‘whys’ and now that I’m back here, my head’s a lot clearer than it was and I’m all set to face the combats that hereby come.
Since my week over there wasn’t a typical one, my pursuits therefore were far different from the ones of my daily regimen. I woke up early around six in the morning, had breakfast in the nearby cafeterias where they didn’t serve onions to maintain the sanctity of their surroundings. I’d like to add here, that every place has a different set of beliefs and convictions they cater to. Beliefs are not only distinguished by unalike religions or castes but by places also and when you genuinely want to become a part of a setting, you learn to live by its norms, no matter how short your stay is. So, after I had my breakfast I took a quick bath in one of the huts where I staying where the view from inside was as above, I left to venture out. The enticing pulchritude of my surroundings had left me gob smacked. I saw the devout river of ganga and sat there while time passed by unnoticed and jealous of its momentary insignificance. I had the company of my best friend named “The Silent Girl” written by Tess Gerritsen. A must read! When time finally succeeded in making me feel its essence again, the day was now turning into night and the amalgamation of colors red and yellow with grey and black was bewitching.

  
After taking a long stroll ahead walking against the flow of the river where I noticed too many foreigners and lots of libraries exhibiting books of spirituality and yoga, did I come back to the Kaali Kamli Ashram where I was staying. The night sung a song, and I couldn’t help but put words into it, those words not being mine but of Sir Dylan Thomas’s,

“Do not go gentle into that good night. 


Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

 

And that is how I spent my week. Introspecting, analyzing and figuring out things we should all take out time for.

Remember a poem we all read in 12th standard called “Keeping Quiet” by the evergreen and my favorite poet, Pablo Neruda? His poem best defines the state I was in and I exhort you all to do so too, that is,

 

“Now we will count to twelve

and we will all keep still.”

  

 
 

 

Leave a Reply

