The woman in me

Poet – Priyanjana Das

The woman in me does not stay behind me
as a latent energy ebbing out,
But never quite making its way to the sky.

The woman in me does not stay put within me
Silently chewing at her thoughts
That eventually were gulped.

The woman in me does not die inside me.
It does not shudder,
It does not flinch,
It does not lag,
It does not SUBDUE.

wp-1457416593346.jpg

The woman in me is Neerja Bhanot
That soars higher in the sky
Only to radiate courage to the nation.
The woman in me is Kalpana Chawla
A shooting star in space.
The woman in me is Jhumpa Lahiri
Writing its way across linguistic barriers
The woman in me is Mary Kom
With a punch of liberty
The woman in me is P.T.Usha
The red ribbon of hope still intact, at the end of every race.

The woman in me is the tireless mother
Whose chores are as pure and selfless as herself
The woman in me is career oriented
With hopes to pounce on the competitive world
The woman in me is childish
Doll houses and barbies encompassing life.

wp-1457416618283.jpg

The woman in me is strong enough
To endure censure, censor, criticism and taunts
The woman in me retaliated
YES, i do.
But only to play her part in his- story
To make it, somewhat, her own.

Leave a Reply

