My Love’s Provenance 

Poet : Aziz Chikhly 

  
You rang the bell

Your sweet name you tell

In words that cast a spell

Singing angels our tale they tell

I started to see heaven in hell

Who knew, but well,

In love I fell
An excuse I got

To get your number was my plot

You smiled a lot

For days & days about it I thought

Oh that beauty I shall forget not

Who knew, but well,

In love I fell
The late night talk

To my heart a board, your words were chalk

I’d love again? To myself I mock

I was a dead stream, a dead flock

Until my waves came crashing at your dock

Who knew, but well,

In love I fell
Your good mornings make my day

Crave for every attention you may pay

You are my sunshine in a stack of hay

Those long walks by the bay

Was it April ? Was it may?

Who knew, but well,

In love I fell
You know I’m yours and I know you’re mine

I still remember our first dine

In that red dress you looked so fine

For our souls to meet it all did incline

Our wedding is what is due in line

Who knew, but well,

In love I fell

  
One fine night in search of provenance

At first I was left in unknown cognizance

I started to describe her love as my opulence

No bound or reason of her prominence

It was nothing but your smile, is my confidence

Who knew, but well

More in love I fell,

When I found my loves provenance.

Leave a Reply

