Beside your carcass.. 

Poet – Anuj Nawal

I’ve watched you in your most cheerful smile,
 
I’ve watched you laugh as if there’s no tomorrow,
I’ve watched you cry like a child missing her parents,
I’ve watched you look outside the window without any expression,
I watched you red with rage,
I’ve watched you blushing in your wedding dress,
I’ve watched you laze around in your oldest T-shirt,
I’ve watched you giggle in the red dress I bought you,
I’ve watched you wearing nothing, as bare as one can be,
Everything about you is etched into my memory,
Memory is a boon they say,
I deny,
Memory is my curse,
For every day I visit your grave,
These memories make me wonder,
Why did I live, when you had to die?

Leave a Reply

